AAF: The Walt Disney Company, Seven Legendary Individual Inductees Headline the 65th Annual Advertising Hall of Fame

October 24, 2013 11:59 AM | Anonymous

The 65th Advertising Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies & Gala Dinner will be held the evening of Monday, April 7, 2014, in the Grand Ballroom of New York's historic Waldorf Astoria hotel.

Elected by the Hall of Fame’s distinguished Council of Judges, here are this year’s “magnificent seven” to be inducted into the Hall of Fame:
  • Bob Greenberg, Founder, Chairman and CEO, R/GA
  • Sir John Hegarty, Founder, Creative, BBH
  • Mike Hughes, President, The Martin Agency
  • Edward T. Lewis, Co-Founder and Former CEO, Chairman and Publisher, Essence Magazine; Co-Founder, Latina Magazine; Chairman, LMV; and Senior Advisor, Solera Capital
  • Jane Newman, Co-Founder, Merkley Newman Harty
  • Aldo Papone, Senior Advisor, American Express
  • Joe Pytka, Filmmaker, PYTKA
Mike Hughes will also be presented with the inaugural David Bell Award for Industry Service, a new award being introduced to recognize extraordinary and unique contributions and service to the advertising community and industry as a whole. It is named in honor of David Bell (Hall of Fame Class of 2007), a visionary leader and mentor to several generations of advertising professionals.

This year’s corporate inductee is The Walt Disney Company, one of the world’s most beloved companies, imbued by its legendary founder with a unique sense of optimism, creativity and innovation. Disney is the largest media and entertainment conglomerate in the world, with an unprecedented collection of amazing brands including Disney, ESPN, ABC, Pixar, Marvel and Lucasfilm. It is one of only five storied companies ever inducted into the Hall of Fame.

“The Walt Disney Company holds a special place in the hearts of people around the globe, and it is hard to think of another brand that has had a bigger impact not just on the landscapes of advertising, marketing, and media, but indeed on the very culture and ethos of our society. It is truly a part of the great American story,” said James Edmund Datri, President & CEO of the American Advertising Federation, which administers the Advertising Hall of Fame.

“The AAF brings together top leaders from throughout the advertising industry to form the Hall of Fame’s Council of Judgesundefinedheads of advertising and media agencies, media owners, advertisers and members of the Hall of Fame itself. The selection of Hall of Fame members is a rigorous and thoughtful process that identifies the people that have truly shaped and defined the practice of advertising.” said Daryl Evans, Vice President, Consumer Advertising and Marcom, AT&T, and Chairman of the Advertising Hall of Fame.

Laura Desmond, Global CEO, Starcom MediaVest Group, and Vice Chair of the Advertising Hall of Fame added, “the Hall of Fame has always represented the best and brightest in our industry, and this newest group of honorees is no exception. They have differentiated their careers through innovative and forward thinking that will continue to shape our industry for years to come.”

For more information on the Advertising Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies & Gala, please visit, or contact the AAF at or (202) 898-0089.
© 2017 Greater San Francisco Ad Club. PO Box 2690, San Francisco, CA 94126 • P: 510-658-4883 F: 925-658-1063. Serving San Francisco, San Mateo, Marin, Sonoma, Solano, San Joaquin, Contra Costa, and Alameda counties. Membership in GSFAC automatically includes membership in the American Advertising Federation (AAF), the oldest and largest advertising association in the country.
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management